Important Dates

Abstract submissions

Open Monday, 11 June 2018
Closes Monday, 14 January 2019

Early bird registration

Closes 25 January 2019

Online registration

Closes 25 February 2019




+27 (0)11 325 0020


+27 (0)11 325 0028

Postal Address:

PO Box 782243 Sandton, Johannesburg, 2146 South Africa

Welcome Address by Congress Chairman

Dear Friends and Colleagues,


On behalf of the organising committee, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to all of you to attend the SARAA 2019 biennial congress that will be held from March 7-10, 2019 in Durban at the Elangeni & Maharani Hotel, Durban.  The congress is open to all healthcare professionals and those with an interest in Rheumatic Diseases.


The SARAA 2019 Congress theme ‘Back to Basics’ will be reflected in the scientific programme and it is hoped that both the experienced rheumatologist as well as fellows in training will derive benefit in attending the meeting. The congress has included local and international speakers who are leaders in their field of practice.  They will be delivering state of the art lectures in the fields of Adult and Paediatric Rheumatology as well as in the allied disciplines in Rheumatology. It will provide a forum for the exchange and dissemination of scientific and clinical information, thus furthering our knowledge in rheumatic conditions.


The congress will also offer plenty of networking opportunities, providing you with the opportunity to meet and interact with old and new colleagues, as well as our partners and exhibitors. It is an ideal time to rekindle past friendships and to reminisce about previous meetings and shared experiences.


In closing, on behalf of the congress committee, may we in advance thank our valuable partners, attendees and presenters for helping us make the SARAA 2019 a successful congress and we look forward to seeing you there.


Yours Sincerely,

Dr A Solomon

Congress Chairman, SARAA 2018


Dr Charlene Balton

Ms Erin Dayaram

Dr Claudia Ickinger

Sr Nonhlanhla Skosana

Professor Patrick Dessein

Dr Ahmed Solomon – Congress Chairman

Dr Sinisa Stankovic

Dr Anne Stanwix

Dr Ayesha Wadee

Professor Christiaan Scott